Let What Go?!

I am sure that almost everywhere you go, you can hear either Idina Menzel or Demi Lovato screaming the lyrics to “Let It Go” at the top of their lungs. Just recently, when I was on the bus, I heard a three year boy singing the very same song. It is actually quite a catchy song that you either like at once, or it gradually grows on you.
Now, I do not have a problem when this song was used in the context of the movie, although, I would still find it a bit extreme for my taste. Anyways, if you were to really study the lyrics and absorb the words, it is actually a very rebellious song. Let’s take a look:
“Don’t let them in,
don’t let them see
Be the good girl you always have to be
Conceal, don’t feel,
don’t let them know
Well now they know
Let it go, let it go
Can’t hold it back anymore…”
I have a question, it says “Be the good girl you always have to be/Conceal don’t feel…” Conceal what? Is it the fact that on the outside a person has always been obedient, but on the inside, the heart is actually a rebel, so the person now shouldn’t conceal the fact?

Another one:
“Let it go, let it go
Turn away and slam the door
I don’t care
what they’re going to say
Let the storm rage on.
The cold never bothered me anyway…”
So, now it says “Let it go!!!!” Question is, let what go? The good girl? Oh, oh, (here, I clap like an excited kid at Christmas) and this is my favorite, “Turn away and slam the door/I don’t care/what they’re going to say…” Can you imagine your kid – if you have one – say, or even sing, this to you? Ouch, I can only assume how mad the parent would get.

Continuing:
“It’s time to see what I can do
To test the limits and break through
No right, no wrong, no rules for me,
I’m free!”
Mm-hmmm, I can just imagine the meth addict or the drunk singing this to himself, to “test the limits” of how much drugs or booze he can take at one go, to “break through.” But, seriously, the lyrics here are especially eye-brow raising, “No right, no wrong, no rules for me…” Imagine a world like that. If there were no right or wrong, then I guarantee you that this world would kill itself. That’s what Stalin, Hitler, or other dictators thought, that there were no rules for them. However, you can read about the horrors that they committed.

Okay, here, I am more of just making fun of the lyrics:
“…the past is in the past…” Yes, that is true, BUT, the past will come back and haunt you. Everything you do has consequences. Think before acting.

Now, why am I making such an almost uncalled for and harsh comment on this? Because, think of who this is affecting! The children. Children are the future. Joseph Goebbels once said, “If you tell a lie big enough and keep repeating it, people will eventually come to believe it.” And, he definitely knew what he was talking about, since he himself did this. If the children were to grow up tuned in to what this song teaches, they will believe this lie.

Leave a Reply

