To Live, To Laugh, To Love

The number of Filipinos in the church I attend has greatly increased over the years. And, with it, has my interactions with this ethnic group also increased. Here’s what I have learnt about most Filipinos. They are a fun-loving bunch of people – people whom you would want to invite to your party.

It is so easy to be around them. I am, by nature, quite an extroverted and loud person. But, in this Chinese culture in Singapore, you can’t really act like that in a group setting. Sure, me and my Chinese pals do laugh and stuff, but it has to be a toned down version – if not, weird stares would come your way. Whereas, with the Filipinos, no one cares if you find something funny and you start laughing uncontrollably and kinda loudly, in fact, they would probably even join you.

For example, a few years back, we had invited quite a few of the Chinese families in the church come over for a Christmas dinner. Everything went quite well, we chit chatted and held conversations. But, I stopped to observe these guests for a while. A number of them were either seated quietly and staring into space, or they were involved with their electronic gadgets. Unless you made the effort to talk to them, or make the guests talk to each other, they would continue to be like that for quite some time.

Then, during another time, we had invited the Filipinos, and only them, for a meal at my house. Boy, was that a blast. Once they had put down their food, they immediately started talking and laughing with each other. By the time the fellowship “officially” started, the entire house was filled with the happy sounds of laughter and a mix of the Tagalog and English language. Of course, there were a few that did take out their phones, iPads, and stuff, but it was mostly to take hilarious selfies and random pictures.

If you were to ask me which party I enjoyed the most, it would be the one with the Filipinos.

However, I do not mean to say that being a serious person is a bad thing. There are times when you certainly have to be serious. But, I do enjoy the moments when I can just let my hair loose and enjoy the little humorous moments that God puts into my life. To live, to laugh, to love.

Leave a Reply

