Clean Outside, Dirty Inside

While going through Pilgrim’s Progress, there is a very interesting sentence that Faithful says, “I have heard many cry out against sin in the pulpit, who can yet abide it well enough in the heart, house, and conversation.”

How true is that? How many preachers have committed adultery, theft, and things that should never be associated with a Christian? And, let’s make it personal now, what about YOU? Do you walk the walk and talk the talk, but there is a totally different story in your heart and house? Think about that for awhile.

I have been guilty of that, and still am! It is a constant struggle to always make sure we are doing the right thing. However, we must also remember that we do not do it by our own strength, but through Jesus. And He has promised to uphold us.

 Isaiah 41:10 “Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.” 

Isaiah 43:2 “When thou passest through the waters, I will be with thee; and through the rivers, they shall not overflow thee: when thou walkest through the fire, thou shalt not be burned; neither shall the flame kindle upon thee.”

This is just a short sharing. It is intended to make you stop and think. How are you living up to what you are saying? Do you preach or say one thing, but your heart is in total contradiction? Are you – am I – a hypocrite? This actually reminds me of a poem I wrote awhile ago:

At the snap of a finger,
Like a wisp,
Gone the flame –
Never to be seen again.

Like the grass, are the days of man,
Here right now,
Gone the next –
Never to be seen again.

You don’t know when you’d breathe your last.
Could be now,
Could be later –
Never to be seen again.

Will you be ready when your time comes?
Will you be ashamed
Because you’ve not done your best
To live up to His name?

Leave a Reply

