The Bible – Is It True? (Science, Part 1/3)

The Bible is not a scientific book. It has a greater purpose than just serving that – mainly, the Gospel. However, littered throughout the Bible, there are simple statements made regarding the science realm, which have been proven correct hundreds to thousands of years later. This only serves to prove the validity of the Bible. Here are four facts – among a host of others – found:

Leviticus 17:11 “For the life of the flesh is in the blood…”
The book of Leviticus was written during 1440-1400 B.C. and informed the nation of Israel that the blood is an important component of life itself. Let’s take a short look at what the red blood cell does for us:
-forms blood cots around a wound
-regulates body temperature
-transports oxygen to our lungs and tissues
and so on…
Now, a microscopic red blood cell is such an important and complex cell, and yet, “science” is teaching us that this red blood cell came about by chance, in a big bang, and gradually evolved into this essential-for-life cell. Really? Don’t you think that there need be an Intelligent Design behind this?
Bleeding of patients to let out “bad blood” has been around for about three thousand years now and has only recently not been used. It has not been proven to cure any diseases and on the contrary, did cause some deaths. Probably the most famous was George Washington, who died from too much bloodletting and complications stemming from it.

Job 26:7 “…and hangeth the earth upon nothing.”
There were many different views on what the earth was resting on. For the Greeks, it rested on the shoulders of Atlas. For the Hindus, the world rested on four elephants who stood at the four corners of the world. There was also the idea the the earth rested on the back of a giant turtle.
However, the first look from outer space showed us that the earth literally hangs upon nothing. It’s just there…and the book of Job was probably written around 2000 B.C.

Job 28:25 “To make the weight for the winds…”
In 1643, Evangelista Torricelli invented the mercury barometer and proved that the air/wind had weight. Once again, Job was written around 2000 B.C. and this fact was not discovered by secular scientists until 3500 plus years later.

Ecclesiastes 1:6 “The wind goeth toward the south, and turneth about unto the north; it whirleth about continually, and the wind returneth again according to his circuits.”
Over here, King Solomon states that the wind moves in “circuits” or patterns, also known today as wind trades. The Portuguese were one of the first to realize that there was a wind pattern that they could follow to travel across the Atlantic Ocean in order to reach South Africa.
By 1847 to 1849, Matthew F. Murray – Pathfinder of the Seas – drew up a rough wind trade chart, mapping out the wind circuits.
Oh, and, by the way, the book of Ecclesiastes was written in 970 B.C. – 930 B.C., about 1900 years before Matthew Murray’s recorded wind trade chart.

So, my friends, as I mentioned, this book is not written to be used as a science manual, however this little statements found throughout the Bible, and proven to be true, only serve to prove the authenticity of the Bible.

Β 

12 thoughts on “The Bible – Is It True? (Science, Part 1/3)

  1. So, if the accurate statements on science within the Bible serve to prove the authenticity of the Bible… what do the false statements do?

    Not trying to stir anything up, I just like interacting with different minded people. It’s the only way I feel we can grow as individuals. πŸ™‚ Thanks for writing and sharing your thoughts!

    • Hey, there! By false statements, do you mean controversial statements within the Bible? Because if you do, you can post your questions here and I will try my best to answer them. I am not a very good Bible scholar and I will admit that there will be some questions that may seem very hard to me. However, I find that those kind of questions are beneficial to me as it causes me to dig deeper into my faith! So, don’t hesitate to ask, I will answer them when I am done with my three essays.
      Don’t worry, I appreciate you leaving a comment and hope to hear from you soon. πŸ™‚

  2. Kind of, I simply asked piggy-backing off of your statement:

    “…this little statements found throughout the Bible, and proven to be true, only serve to prove the authenticity of the Bible”

    My question to you was, what, when, does little scientific claims in the Bible, proven false, serve of the Bible?

      • I’ll name a few, then. That is a bold claim for you to make!

        Leviticus 11:5-6 claims rabbits and coneys chew cud, they do not.

        Multiple times in the Bible, the earth is said to be set on “pillars” with the sun moving around it.

        Job 39:13-16 gives a completely false account of ostrich behavior.

        To name a few. πŸ™‚

        • Haha!! I knew that the rabbit chewing the cud was gonna come up! It’s one of the most popular questions that is ever asked. I have taken down all your questions and will reply to them once I am done with all three essays. I will be writing a “Q&A” on all the questions I have/ will receive. πŸ™‚

            • Sure thing! By the way, thank you for being polite whenever you point out statements and observations! πŸ™‚ I have had the “privilege” to talk to some very unpleasant people who were snide in everything they said. Really hard to carry a conversation with them!

              • Always. I do have formal training in Theology and Philosopher, undergraduate. I’m also a former Christian. I find it hard to be nasty when it would only be doing so to a past me. πŸ˜‰ Just to lend some personal background.

                My pursuit in all things is honest and open dialogue. So if I ever say anything out of line, just call it to my attention. I have no shame.

Leave a Reply

