The Israelites and I

When I was a kid, I remember being taught the story of the exodus of the nation of Israel from Egypt. I also remember always thinking that the Israelites were the most ungrateful bunch of folks. After all God did for them – freeing them from the Egyptians, dividing the Red Sea, feeding them manna and quails, etc… – they showed their thankfulness by disobeying God’s commandments.
Even God said this of them, ” And the LORD said unto Moses, I have seen this people, and, behold, it is a stiffnecked people:” (Ex 32:9)
Now that I have matured, somewhat ;), I look at the characteristics of the Israelites, and it struck me – I AM JUST LIKE THEM. How often do I, we, get pulled down by the world’s temptations? How often do we get dragged into sin and turn our face from God? We cannot blame Satan as Eve did and say that the temptation was too strong and there was no way we could have resisted.
Because, God did say in 1 Corinthians 10:13 “…but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.”
Yet, when the Holy Spirit convicts us, and we repent our sins, God is faithful and just to forgive us. Ps 86:15 “But thou, O Lord, art a God full of compassion, and gracious, longsuffering, and plenteous in mercy and truth.” We, as did the Israelites, almost follow a cycle: Obedience to God – Blessings in return – Fall into sin – Reap bad consequences – Ask for help and forgiveness from God – Right with God.
When they disobeyed, God allowed them to be taken captives and suffer the harsh consequences; but when Israel obeyed God, they were blessed and were able to defeat their enemies.
Certainly, we are blessed to serve a God who will not just cut us off, even when we repeatedly sin against Him.
I guess I am writing this to myself more than to you, the reader. However, I challenge you. Make a full-out effort to obey God, to seek His will, to stay away from temptations and sins. Nothing can beat the feeling when a saved one is at peace with God!

2 thoughts on “The Israelites and I

Leave a Reply

